The workers’ compensation system in the state of Maryland is extremely important for those who are in a position to need it. Workers’ compensation provides employees with protection when they are harmed on the job, as they may be able to collect things such as lost wages as well as medical treatment. Also, some will be eligible for vocational rehabilitation, to help them get back on the job as soon as possible. It is easy to take for granted the risk of being hurt at work, but an injury that knocks you off the job can quickly become a personal crisis.
There are many questions associated with Maryland workers’ compensation, especially from those who have never before needed to use the system. We hope the list of frequently asked questions below will clear up any confusion you may have.
What is covered by workers’ compensation?
The exact coverage you will receive will depend on the specifics of your case, however, you may receive payment for lost wages, as well as coverage for doctor and hospital bills. You may also be covered for prescriptions that are needed, and other expenses that result from the injury.
How do I file a claim?
If you believe you have the right to file a workers’ compensation claim in the state of Maryland, you will need to speak with your employer. Notify your employer of your injury as soon as possible, put everything down in writing as it relates to the incident, and request a claim form. Going through these steps promptly is likely to help your claim, so don’t delay once you have been injured on the job.
How long will I wait for my claim to be reviewed?
Once your form has been submitted properly, you should receive a letter with a status update within 14 days. This letter will come from the insurance company. If your claim form has missing information, the process may be delayed and you may be asked to fill in any gaps.
Is an attorney necessary?
In many cases, no, it will not be necessary to retain the services of an attorney to simply file a claim form. If you would like help during the process, however, you certainly may choose to work with a qualified attorney.
Who has to pay for the claim?
Under Maryland state law, your employer is required to hold workers’ compensation insurance. As such, any payment that you receive as a result of your injury will be paid by the insurance company.
When can I expect to see payments?
If your claim is approved, you are required to receive payment within 15 days of that approval. Should 15 days come and go with no sign of your payment, you’ll want to check with the insurance company, or your Maryland worker’s compensation attorney for more information.
Workers’ compensation is an important employee benefit in the state of Maryland, and you should have no reservations about using the system if you have been injured on the job. Ask for a claim form from your employer and fill it out honestly and completely for the best chances at a successful claim.